What rights does a noncustodial parent have in Tennessee?

On Behalf of | Jun 11, 2019 | Child Custody, Divorce, Family Law | 0 comments

As the noncustodial parent after a Tennessee divorce, you may have concerns that your ex-spouse will edge you out of your child’s life, and you will lose the close relationship that you and your child shared before. The Knoxville Bar Association explains that the state’s Parenting Plan law is intended to make sure you and your child are able to maintain your relationship, not separate the two of you.

In order to protect your relationship, the state has established these rights for you and other noncustodial parents:

  • To speak to your child on the phone no less than two times per week (but the calls must take place at reasonable times)
  • To send your child private mail that the other parent may not open
  • To receive school records
  • To receive notice of your child’s sports or extracurricular activities at least 48 hours ahead of time, if possible
  • To receive an itinerary of any trip out of state that the other parent takes the child on if it is for more than 48 hours

Perhaps you are worried that something will happen to your child, and you will not know until it is too late. The law states that you must be notified within 24 hours of a hospitalization or an illness or death. You have the right to receive your child’s medical records directly from his or her health care provider, as well.

This is not an all-inclusive list of your rights, but it can give you an idea of how your former spouse should be treating you as a co-parent. However, it should not be interpreted as legal advice.